To Standardise or not: is the normalisation of video a thing of the past? PrestoCentre Webinar

PrestoCentre will host a free webinar titled To Standardise or not: is the normalisation of video a thing of the past?

Wednesday 30th July 2014, 3:00pm – 4:00pm BST/UTC (10:00am –  11:00am EST, 4:00pm – 5:00pm CET, 7:00am – 8:00am PST).

The webinar will examine the question of whether it makes sense to produce a standardised copy of a digital video file for preservation within the context of collections of video artworks. In the world of digital videotape, this was done to provide a safety copy, often to provide a more robust uncompressed version and also to streamline future migration. In the world of digital video files, there is a suggestion that unless the files supplied by the artist are very unusual it does not make sense to produce a normalised copy, however it may make sense to preserve other elements which serve to render the file correctly and help to monitor the file’s integrity. The webinar will take the form of a discussion and reflect current thinking around these issues.

More information and registration: www.prestocentre.org/calendar/standardise-or-not-normalisation-video-thing-past

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s